New client

Goal: you create a new client and learn about the optional settings you can configure now or later.

Prerequisite: you are logged in as administrator.

Steps 1–4 are enough for a minimal initial setup; all further tabs are optional settings that you can adjust at any later time (see also Edit a client).

Step by step

  1. Select Administration > Clients.

  2. Click the button

    "New Client" button

  3. On the General tab, enter a name and notes.

    "General" tab with name and notes for the new client

  4. Click the Save button to save the information.

Check the result

The new client appears in the client list. You can now optionally configure the following tabs.

Further tabs (optional)

Project properties

Here you set the presentation rule for settings, header/footer, and user views.

"Project properties" tab of a client

You define whether project settings such as

  • units of time for duration and effort, etc.

  • column arrangement in tables

  • time scale representation

should be used as default settings for other projects or not. You can also define the presentation of headers/footers and user views the same way.

The following options are available:

  • per project/portfolio. Each project/portfolio has its own settings.

  • per user of the client. All projects/portfolios the user opens are displayed with the same settings.

  • per client. This variant provides a consistent presentation of all projects/portfolios for all users of the company.

iCalendar

Here you define which information is passed on to Outlook.

"iCalendar" tab of a client

After double-clicking an appointment in the Outlook calendar, this information is visible.

Retention periods

Here you define when projects, project revisions, and resource pool revisions marked for deletion should be permanently deleted.

"Retention periods" tab of a client

Note

  • A folder is only permanently deleted once all projects it contains have been permanently deleted after the retention period.

  • Permanently deleted projects/folders cannot be restored.

  • Returning to a deleted revision (project/resource pool) is not possible.

Project Import

"Project Import" tab of a client

Timeline

"Timeline" tab of a client

Vacation planning

On this tab you define how non-working days are synchronized between Rillsoft Integration Server (Rillsoft Cloud) and, if applicable, Rillsoft Project. If a project planner has already defined employees’ non-working days in the Rillsoft Project client itself, you can choose one of two variants here:

  • either add and combine the non-working days from the Rillsoft Project resource pool

  • or discard the non-working days from the Rillsoft Project resource pool and only consider the non-working days from Rillsoft Integration Server (Rillsoft Cloud)

"Vacation planning" tab of a client

Vacation Import

"Vacation Import" tab of a client

Documents

Screenshot pending — "Documents" tab of a client

Note

No English screenshot of the Documents tab exists yet; the placeholder above will be replaced once one is captured.